Buchholz Back in Beantown

Baseball

Image

Soooo, this is my first ever blog post and why not make it about the greatest sports team EVER?! But, before I go on a rant about how amazing, and studly these BoSox are, I want to give a shout out to my Muva (Mother), my Fava (Father), my Sistaz (Sister’s), my friendz (friends), my puppiez (puppies), and all the crazy-catz (crazy-cats) out there who have influenced me in my life. This blog is for you, and uhhh, yeah…I hope you enjoy it.

If you couldn’t tell by the title, CLAY BUCHHOLZ IS BACK FROM THE DL AFTER BEING ON IT FOR 94 DAYS!!! And, if you couldn’t tell from the caps, I’M REALLY F#%!@&$ EXCITED!!! I meannnnn, it’s not like he was 9-0 when he went on the DL, or he gave up 16 earned runs in 84.1 innings pitched, equating to a 1.71 ERA. It’s not like he held opponents to a .195 batting average against him, or had an 81/29 strikeout/walk ratio. “Wait…you mean he actually did all of that before he was sidelined with a shoulder injury? Wow, they must have really suffered with out him.” Nahhh, homie. The Sox have the most wins in the MLB and they are currently 1 percentage-point behind the Braves for the “best record in baseball” (Sox: 87-58, .600; Braves: 86-57, .601). They hold a 7 1/2 game lead over the Tampa Bay Rays in the AL East, and can further extend that lead with a 3-game series win (or sweep) against said Rays starting tonight, which just so happens to be my mans’ Buchholz’s first start back.

This news just makes me…*tear*…so excited for my Sox. They had a season to forget about last year (2012) after going 69-93 due to the Bobby V-disease (for those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s a disease that basically eats away at team chemistry and causes severe pain for said team’s fan-base). And then who can forget about the collapse in 2011, when the Sox went 7-20 in September only to miss out on a playoff spot by losing the last game of the season to the O’s? (Ugh, now I’m really bringing tears to my eyes). But all is well in 2013. A team, dubbed by the media to have a “rebuilding year”, is proving everybody wrong and are poised for the playoffs, just like the old days. Getting him back is just more cushion for the rotation, and help to solidify a playoff berth for these Boston Beauties.

Oh, yeah, before I forget. How beautiful are the 2013 Red Sox? Let this lovely slideshow, prepared by the NY Times show you just how beardiful they really are:

http://www.nytimes.com/slideshow/2013/09/09/sports/baseball/Red-Sox-Beards.html

Leave a Reply

