Hail to the…Wait, Aren’t they 0-2? RGIII Sucks.

Football

Image

Photo Cred: I don’t even know. I’m too lazy to go back and check my history #sorryzzz

Contrary to the title of this post, I’m not going to bash RGIII for his lack of play in 2013, especially after the fact he’s still miraculously coming back from reconstructive knee surgery that he underwent in January earlier this year. Instead, I’m going to defend him. It’s not RGIII’s fault the Redskins are 0-2. It’s just easy for people, and the media to use him as the scapegoat, because of his successful Rookie campaign, in which he went on to lead the Skins to the NFC East division title. With that being said, let me start my rant of defense (something, if I may, you SHOULD be blaming the Redskins for lacking in):

Hold on…let me break out my nerdy glasses and throw some statistics out at you guys, because who doesn’t love statistics? In 2012, the Redskins were 1-1 after two games (a whopping one game better than they currently are). In those two games, RGIII was a combined 39-55 for 526 yards, with 3 touchdowns and 1 interception. He also ran the ball 20 times for 124 yards and 2 touchdowns. Let’s look at 2013. As you may have noticed from the title, the Skins are 0-2 in the early-going of 2013. In these 2 games, RGIII is a combined 56-89 for 649 yards, with 5 touchdowns and 3 interceptions. He’s also run the ball 9 times for 25 yards and no touchdowns. Please, tell me, what is there to blame on RGIII? If you say, “he’s only run the ball 5 times in the past two games. That’s worthy of some blame” I hereby dub you as a moron. Yeah, I said it; a MORON.

“But, Manny, what about Adrian Peterson? He had a monster year after he practically went through the same surgery!”

Last time I checked, Adrian Peterson is a running back, and his main job is to, well, run (you learn something new everyday). RGIII is a quarterback, and his main job is to either throw the ball or hand it off to those guys who run the ball…what do you call them again? Oh, yeah, Adrian Peterson’s. Unless it’s a designed run play for RGIII, he shouldn’t be thinking about running the ball. His knee may be 100% structurally, but he isn’t 100% game ready. Also, the answer isn’t to bench him for Captain Kirk Cousins (no offense Kirk). RGIII desperately needs the reps.

So, before you all turn your back on RGIII faster than Regina George did to Cady Heron in Mean Girls (yeah, I made a Mean Girls reference, so what?) I want you to ask yourself a few questions:

  • Do you not hold your breath every time RGIII runs the ball and/or gets hit? I know I sure as hell do.
  • Did you really expect him to be in pristine playing condition after not playing any contact football for the first 8 months of 2013? If you did, please refer to how I feel about individuals who blame the fact he hasn’t run the ball that much for their 0-2 start; it’s along those lines.
  • And, last but not least, do you not remember what the Redskins record was when they reached their bye-week last season (this coming when RGIII was, in fact, 100% healthy with no knee problems)? After a devastating loss to the Panthers (who I can say may be the Houston Astros of the NFL, after being tortured to watch them for the past 4 years while down at school in South Carolina) the Skins were 3-6, and no one would even put them in the same sentence as the word “playoffs”.

It’s been two games. RGIII’s already proved doubters wrong by returning in time for the first game of the season. May I remind you of the $10,000 fine-resulting t-shirt he wore during his road to recovery? It stated “Operation Patience”. Don’t get your panties in a bunch.

Leave a Reply

