The Time has Come

Baseball

ImageThat’s it. The 2013 MLB regular season is over (intense sobbing). All 4,860 games have been played, with an additional game being played tonight between the Tampa Bay Rays and the Texas Rangers to determine the final AL Wild Card team. But, turn that frown upside down, because those beloved Boston Red Sox (AKA the Boston Bearded Beauties) are in it! I know you guys are just as excited as I am, no need to deny it. I’ve already ordered my Red Sox AL East Division champs shirt, and one awesome fan of my blog bought me the shirt that has all of those magnificent beards on it that I talked about in “And the Winner is…“, so I’m pretty stoked! (…it was me.) With that being said, let the playoffs, and the beards that are often associated with them begin!

As stated before, the Rays and the Rangers are squaring off tonight in a one-game series to determine who will play the Cleveland Indians in another one-game series, to then determine who will play the Red Sox in the first “official round” of the playoffs. Confusing? No way, Jose. It’s easy-peasy (sp?). I don’t know who I’d want the Red Sox to play out of these three teams. Boston took 12 of 19 against Tampa this year, but they – especially Evan Longoria – always scare me. They could go on a streak as long as the one Will Ferrell had in Old School and shock the world! Texas took 4 of 6 from Boston this season, and have rattled off 7 wins in a row to force this one-game series with the Rays. Plus, they always seem to give Boston a hard time, winning 10 of their last 14 games against them in the past 2 years. They’re just one of those teams. As for Cleveland, Boston took 6 of 7 games from them this season, but that was early on in the season. Former Red Sox manager Terry Francona is now the manager for them, and he has a career post-season record of 28-17. Plus, they’re coming into the playoffs winning their last 10 games in a row – granted they played the Astros, White Sox, and Twins – but they still have momentum, which is key.

What about when the Sox win the AL Division Series and have to play either the Tigers or the A’s in the AL Championship Series? The Red Sox and the Tigers have battled it out this season, resulting in the Tigers winning 4 of 7. If that were an ALCS series right there, the Sox would have lost. Also, these two are the top 2 teams in every offensive category in the MLB (runs, batting average, on base percentage, and slugging). It could be a pretty tight series. As for the A’s, the season series between the two was tied at 3 a piece. They kind of remind me of the Rays from a few years ago (“under the radar”, pretty good offense, great pitching) and that doesn’t leave a good feeling in my stomach (it could still be from me sacking myself yesterday while skating – either way, it sucks). I could definitely see this series going all 7, which is good for TV, but not for fans.

Ahhhh! I’m already stressing out and the playoffs haven’t even started! I may be the most stressed I’ve ever been in my life for the next month, so don’t push my buttons. This drives me crazy, I won’t get sleep, I hope the Red Sox escape defeat. Oh-oh-oh, craaazy, and it’s sucks so much, the road to the World Series will be pretty tough – sang to the beat of (You Drive Me) Crazy by Britney Spears (just keep singing it, you’ll eventually get it).

Wait, what? What is that? There’s a whole other division series going on? Who gives a f***? I’ll worry about the NL when my Sox are playing the team representing them in the World Series.

Leave a Reply

