Wiping Off the Dust

Miscellaneous

18 days ago I was diagnosed with stage-8 writers block, a very serious condition bloggers get when we’ve simply run out of things to blog about. My life hit a serious low – I’m talkin’ “Little Orphan Annie” low: I had a lengthy break from work, thanks to the combination of the holiday’s and an enormous amount of PTO I’ve accrued; Mother Nature graced Northern VA with some warm weather (50’s-60’s) on the weekends so I could skate; and, the lowest of them all, I moved out of my parents house, and into a very spacious 4-bed/4-bath house with three of the coolest cats out there. My life was in turmoil. (If you haven’t caught onto my sarcasm, I’ll let it slide just this once – I haven’t posted in 18 days.)

Contrary to my poor attempt at sympathetic sarcasm, my life has been GRRRRRRRRRRRRRR-8! The house I mentioned earlier has been the highlight of my last 2+ weeks. I couldn’t have asked to live with a greater group of guys (and girl – we all know who she is). The excitement this house brings is at such a high level that I can’t wait to get home from work at the end of the day, because Lord(e) know’s what kind of shenanigans we’ll get into. For instance, the other day I was so excited to get home that my excitement affected my driving. I was weaving in and out of traffic, just itching to get home. When pulling up to the house, I ran up the stairs as fast as I could, swung open the door, and noticed I was the first person home. I didn’t let depression get the best of me, because I knew eventually those bright, shining faces of my roommates would be walking through the door in no time. Sure enough, those bright, shining faces walked through the door, and boy did we have the time of our lives! I can’t talk about what we did – roomie-code (LoLz) – but I can assure you that you all missed out.

The one downfall about this house, and I’m being 100% serious about this, is the fact that we have a couple living in our basement, and this couple has 3-month old twins, so noise is often a factor. We’ve already had them come to our door telling us to stop hammering at 9:30 PM (rookie mistake); we’ve had them bang on the ceiling, because we were laughing too loud at night; and, the straw that broke the camels back, they emailed our landlord saying we’ve been making too much noise during the weekdays, sometimes until 3:00 AM. What are we in? Kindergarten? Little Johnny didn’t steal your Lisa Frank stickers, so there’s no need to go complaining to a grownup about it. We’re all adults – talk to us before tattling. (For the record – we’re all in bed by 11:30 PM during the week, so we’re sorry we didn’t get the memo that people started recognizing Friday nights as a weeknight.) Anyway, after having some friends over this past Friday night we learned that if the majority of people are in the kitchen and the back room located in the kitchen, then they can’t hear us that well downstairs. Supposedly these two rooms of the house are additions, and extend further back than the basement does. Chalk one up for us!

(Next time on “Chief Keef’s Trap House”: the roomies are throwing a little shindig for New Year’s, because they’re all too poor from taking on the responsibility of paying rent to go out. Will their endeavors be a success? Tune in next week to find out! *These bitches love Sosa…*)

Leave a Reply

