It’s a Curse

Skateboarding

On perhaps the biggest party night of the year, I am struck with a New Year’s Eve curse. It may be a personal curse, but a curse is a curse is a curse. For a majority of my past New Years Eve experiences’ I’ve been either sick or taking care of someone who’s sick, thus affecting my ability to ring in the New Year properly. I wouldn’t necessarily say it ruins my New Year’s, because if I’m taking care of someone who is sick, it’s typically someone I care for, so I don’t really mind. If I’m the sick one, then I’ll either stay in for the night or simply not drink a lot, which I also don’t mind. But, just because I don’t mind these alternatives doesn’t mean I want this to be a recurring thing. I want to be able to make a decision on whether or not I party too hard without any of these illnesses playing a role in the decision making.

  • New Year’s Eve freshman year of college, soooo…2008 into 2009, I had pink eye. (I think it was that year). Yeah, yeah, yeah – thanks to the movie Knocked Up I always get shit (no pun intended) for telling people this, but to my knowledge it wasn’t because someone farted on my pillow. I probably just wiped my eye with shit (also kidding). Anyways, that’s why I stayed home. Funny story about this, and for confidential purposes I’m keeping names out of it: I was supposed to be going to some club in DC with a group of friends, and there’s nothing more I hate than club’s. When I told said group of friends’ of my condition, I was “in trouble” in a sense. One of the individuals in the group was mad at me because I got pink eye, as if I purposely got it. At the time I thought that individual was being ridiculous, but looking back on it I just find it ridiculously funny, and hopefully they can too.
  • New Year’s Eve my senior year of college, 2012 into 2013, I was in the hospital with someone who had a Universal Technical Institute, and we’ll leave it at that.
  • This past Tuesday on New Year’s Eve I woke up with a sore throat, along with a minor case of fatigue. The only guess as to how I got sick this time was because I just moved into a new house, and I’m adjusting to it..? I don’t know. That may be a stretch, but it’s all I can think of.

Anyway, as previously stated; just because I don’t mind taking it easy on New Year’s Eve doesn’t mean I want this curse to keep happening. So please, sweet baby New Year, grant me this one request: let’s stop this curse in its tracks. My New Year’s resolution this year is to have a healthy New Year’s Eve, and I promise I won’t take advantage of the fact I’m healthy. Kthanksbyeeee.

Leave a Reply

