Re: What is Money

Uncategorized

This morning, after I slept through five minutes of my alarm because I thought the vibration noise was coming from the basement, I awoke to an email from WordPress. For those non-WordPress users, these emails typically mean two things: 1) you gained a new follower, or 2) someone commented on a blog post of yours. For a blogger fresh in his rookie campaign like myself, these emails often come as quite a surprise and leave a positive feeling raining down on you.

As I wiped away the remnants of beauty sleep from my eyes I opened up the email. To my lovely surprise, an anonymous reader commented on yesterday’s post. Eager to hear what they had to say, I wiped my eyes a few more times and began to read. To be honest – I read the first few words (“money represents material (tangible) objects…) and I stopped, thinking to myself, “wow…some asshole had nothing better to do last night but to give me the literal meaning of money, and make it a blog post in and of itself.” Despite the “ughhhh” feeling I had, I continued to read. Thankfully I pushed myself to read it, because shortly after the first 5 words I knew exactly who Mr. Anonymous was. I wanted to share it with you all, because what he had to say was very, very interesting. I talked to him later in the morning and told him he should start his own blog. If/when he does, I’ll be his first follower!

Without further ado, I present to you the longest comment 1) I’ll probably ever receive, and 2) I’ve ever personally seen. I hope future blog posts of mine will spark the same interest in your mind as it did his!

money represents material (tangible) objects, like shirts, cars, skateboards, and bangin ass celebrity delly sandwiches. translated differently, money also represents necessity, like materials to keep you warm, modes of transportation (whether it be a personal vehicle or public transit), things that bring you joy (a person can’t live life without moments of happiness), and ways to get the proper nutrients in your body so you maintain a heartbeat. important to note, any necessity you need in life can be facilitated without money, however, who really wants to go make dough, kill a turkey, skin it, and then cook it to make that turkey sandwich?

money represents a lot of things depending on perspective, some people say its a drug, others say it’s time, momentary happiness, experiences (you can’t realistically float to europe…technically you could), wants/needs, turkey sandwiches, etc etc.

money does absolutely nothing for the intangibles in life; the intangibles represent true happiness for me. sure, anything can be bought — you can buy a golddigger, you can buy a friend, you can buy respect, you can buy a position of power, etc. what’s lacking is authenticity. any friend that can be bought, is a material object that can be replaced; same as any golddigger, any position of power, respect, etc. true happiness, comes from surrounding yourself with authentic intangibles, things that cant be replaced, that are not bought, but earned.

all in all, you dont NEED money, but it makes life a lot simpler since you dont have to david boone it 24/7. safe to say the vast majority of the population WANTS money, and for whatever reason they’d like to have it, and by whatever means they try to get it, more power to em! personally, going to a job that you’d do for free, would be a dream; very few people get to experience that in their lifetimes, but it’s definitely a standard to strive for — “if not you, then who?” is my motto. however, a person currently at job they “dislike,” should look at the glass half. had that person been at a job they did like, they wouldn’t have been able to find time to share some very interesting points of view on a blog, or express their creative/satirical/theOnion-esque writing capabilities, or start building a portfolio of articles to showcase to a potential new boss, or discover the value of having free time to explore one’s mind and the millions of thoughts that run through it on a daily basis :)…emphasis on the “free”; time is money eh? money is money, time is time. #JwillstillusesChrome #icanridemybikewithnohandlebars #toleaseorbuy? #COACHHHH

Leave a Reply

